

The Kansas Association of School Business Officials Annual Business Meeting started at 12:20 pm on April 20, 2023 at the Marriott Hotel in Overland Park Kansas.

Roll Call: KASBO Membership was present.

Directors Present:

Michael Speer (President), Debbie Walburn (President Elect), Jason Gillam (Vice-President), Merle Hastert (Past President), Matt Morford (Director), Shane Hecox (Director), Julie Stucky (Director), Stephanie Pope (Director), Dale Nuckolls (Director), John Hutchinson (Executive Director), Jimmy Hay (Treasurer), Rod Spangler, (Vendor Rep), Wayne Ryan (Vendor Rep),

### Call to Order

President Michael Speer called the meeting to order at 12:23 pm.

### Approval of Minutes – March

The March minutes, as well as previous months, were posted to the KASBO website for all members to view.

Motion made by Dale Nuckolls to approve the March minutes as presented. Seconded by Stephanie Pope. Motion carried.

## Approval of Treasurer's Report – March

The March Treasurer's Report, as well as previous months, were posted to the KASBO website for all members to view.

Motion made by Shane Hecox to approve the March Treasurer's Report as presented. Seconded by Jason Gillam. Motion carried.

## Approval of Audit Report (Year ending June 30, 2022)

The most recent audit report completed by Doug Schwin and Laura Warthem was posted to the KASBO website and states that the financial records present a fair and accurate picture of the financial status of KASBO as of year end June 30, 2022.

Motion made by Debbie Walburn to approve the Audit Report as presented. Seconded by Julie Stucky. Motion carried.

#### Conference Committee Report

Report made by Michael Speer (President)

A brief summary of the work done by the Conference Committee members was reviewed stated the increased costs and not everything that was wanted could be done. Conference Committee members were recognized by the KASBO membership.

#### **Professional Development Committee Report**

Report made by Debbie Walburn (President-Elect)

A quick summary of all the work that was done by the Professional Development committee in securing the many different sessions and presenters. The Professional Development Committee members were recognized by the KASBO membership.



# Scholarship Committee Report

The American Fidelity KASBO Scholarships were presented by Wayne Ryan. The Piper/Sandler Dependent Scholarship was presented by Michael Speer. The Karen Schadel Memorial ASBO Ace Scholarship was presented by Rod Spangler as well as golf tournament winners.

## Officer Installation

Karen Smith, ASBO International Board of Directors member, presided over the installation of the 2023-2024 officers.

Sheila Meggers	Hutchinson, USD 308	Director
Kristen Woodbury	Turner, USD 202	Director
Merle Hastert	De Soto, USD 232	Director
Dale Nuckolls	Augusta, USD 402	Director
Shane Hecox	Buhler, USD 313	Director
Stephanie Pope	Emporia, USD 253	Director
Tracey Moerer	Ottawa, USD 290	Secretary
Jimmy Hay	Paola, USD 368	Treasurer
Michael Speer	Coffeyville, USD 445	Past President
Matt Morford	Maize, USD 266	Vice-President
Jason Gillam	Blue Valley, USD 229	President Elect
Debbie Walburn	Silver Lake, USD 372	President

## **Retirement Proclamation**

President-Elect Debbie Walburn read the Retirement Proclamation to the membership and the names of those who are retiring this year. All retirees were recognized.

#### Adjourn

The Annual Business Meeting of the KASBO membership was closed at 1:10 pm by President Michael Speer.

Respectfully Submitted Michael Speer