Kansas Association of School Business Officials (KASBO) Board of Directors Meeting – 27 January 2022 Meeting via Zoom

Present: Merle Hastert, Clint Schutte, Matt Morford, Rob Balsters, Michael Speer, Jason Gillam, Julie Stucky, Debbie Walburn, Tracey Moerer, Lori Campbell, Jimmy Hay, John Hutchison, Rod Spangler, Dustin Avey, Shane Hecox

1. Call to Order -

Tracey Moerer called the meeting to order at 8:30 am.

2. Discussion regarding additional Academy Classes and Compensation for Presenters:

Offer the Accounting and HR courses again on March 17 and March 18, 2022 at Kansas Star Event Center, Mulvane. Clint Schutte and Debbie Walburn agreed to facilitate/teach the courses.

For the March offerings: Must sign up for each class individually.

Must have a current paid membership to KASBO to attend an Academy class.

Spangler suggested in the future the board consider offering an "annual" fee for classes.

Discussion was held regarding curriculum development for future classes. Before the annual conference in April, interested individuals should meet to begin planning and organizing to move forward in the best possible way.

Schutte and Walburn left the meeting at 8:43 am.

Discussion held regarding compensating Academy Class presenters. Currently the presenter/presenters have been involved in developing the curriculum. Many hours have been put in without any compensation from KASBO. Thoughts from the board included discussion of a flat rate per class vs. an hourly rate, paying the presenter or the district, KASBO paying for a hotel room, suggested the presenter should use their personal leave time due to being compensated for the time away.

Moerer left the meeting at 8:50 am.

Matt Morford clarified the presenter would be paid directly, not the district. Hay agreed that would not be a problem.

Jason Gillam with a motion the board compensate a presenter for a full day class at \$350 per person plus hotel arranged by KASBO. Shane Hecox second. Motion Carried unanimously.

Speer, Board Vice-President adjourned the meeting at 9:00 am.